690 Endure R – Case Savers

I had read a few posts on the web which talked about the magnesium engine cases on the KTM 690 Enduro R not being overly robust. So, even though I am happy with the AXP skid plate and the Outback Motortech upper bars, I concluded adding a bit of protection direct to the cases would be a good thing, to guard against falls onto protruding rocks.

After some research I found a variety of options in a variety of materials at a variety of price points. In the end, I never looked into the options too deeply, as I quite liked the look of the metal case savers sold by Adventure Spec. And based on the fact I was about to order the Adventure Spec mini fairing, it made sense to get this ordered at the same time to save on delivery charges.

Out the box you get two case savers, one for crank side and one for the clutch side as follows:

Adventure Spec KTM 690 Case Savers unboxed

To fit I used a neutral cure silicon sealer. Neutral cure is apparently important to ensure the dried silicon does not eat away at the paint on bikes engine. They are a doddle to fit, here is the crank side before fitting.

Engine case before fitting case saver

I first fitted a bungee cord to act as a retainer for the case savers, which would keep them in place whilst the silicon cured.

Bungee cord fitted to hold the case saver in place whilst silicon cures.

I applied about 4 or 5 blobs of silicon to the inside of the case saver, one larger one in the centre, and maybe 4 others at each of 12 o’clock, 3 o’clock, 6 o’clock and 9 o’clock. Being careful not to go too close to the edges (you done want the silicone pushing out all over the visible aspects of the engine). I then (ensuring the AS logo was facing up!) pushed on the cover and placed the strap over it to keep it in place.

Case saver silicone’d on, and held to dry by bungee cord.

It was an identical approach the other side, small amount of silicon and a retaining strap to hold whilst it cured.

Clutch side case saver fitted

They look and feel a decent quality. I am hoping they don’t get tested too much, despite my low ability riding technique!

Leave a comment