Salisbury Plain TET – a post lockdown blast

Following lockdown 3 in England I (like everyone else in the world) was itching to get out. Whilst I had done a few local rides post lockdown, with the easing measures allowing overnight stops for self-contained accommodation, it was time to hook the bike up to the back of the trailer and head off! Where too though? As only going somewhere for one full day of riding, I wanted a location where there are lots of trails all in close proximity, so I could maximise the amount of off-road in the short time I had. After weighing up some options, I decided to head for Salisbury Plain. Only been there once before, but remember there being lots of route options. Also, the Trans European Trail (TET) in the UK has a good loop around the plain.

This is roughly the route I took.

Salisbury Plain area, one day route

Whilst it was cold (mid April), the weather was dry and bright, and had a great time! A word of caution! Watch out for the puddles! When I went, we had 5 days of dry weather before, and the ground was like concrete – but, some of the larger puddles were well over my knee’s. Had there been bad weather beforehand, these would have been bike swallowers! So, if in doubt, always stop and probe the depth before committing!

Here is a 6 min video I did of the day!

Here are some photos…

Muddy fun!
Tree lined trails
I’m in the Army now!
Plenty of ruts!
Trails run really close to Stone Henge

Leave a comment