KTM 690 Enduro R – TET ready project – phase 1 mods

So, I purchased my new 2020 KTM 690 Enduro R in September 2020 and I have been spending the last 3 months doing some basic, cost effective mods to bring the bike nearer to what I want. My key usage scenario’s are

  1. Daily commute (60 miles return)
  2. Local green lanes on weekends
  3. Capable of doing sections of the TET (UK and France, Spain and Andorra), whilst camping from the bike.

The bike comes out the box sort of OK for requirement 1, perfect for requirement 2 and not great for requirement 3. So, most of the mods have been aimed at requirement 3 (TET style travel), whilst not upsetting the apple cart too much in relation to requirement 2.

Everyone will have their own view of what TET ready means. For me, my phase 1 mods are what I see as the most essential ones to meet the above three requirements. I am trying to meet those requirements in a minimalistic manner – I dont want to buy an enduro machine and go OTT turning it into a full ADV bike, I may as well just buy an ADV bike as do that. So, here is the summary.

ItemNotesInitial score (out of 5)Weight gain / loss
AXP Skid PlateStock plate 700g, AXP 1.7KG
Weight addition is low down, so no real issue.
41KG
Barkbusters Jet Hanguards40.4KG
Oxford Heated Grips50.3KG
Graphics Kit4N/A
Outback Motortek upper engine bars41.75KG
Adventure Spec Mini FairingLove this, really sets the bike off in my eyes.50.85KG
KTM ABS DongleGreat, but only after you do a nasty hack mod to make it usable5N/A
Adventure Spec Case SaversThese seem ok, no more than that30.2KG
Perun rear rackGreat bit of kit (considering bikes luggage limitations).
Weight is high up, which is a pain, but worth it.
51.35KG
Wings slip on canStock can 4.2KG, Wings 1.9 – saves 2.3KG
Weight is high up, so a great saving
5-2.3KG (saving)
Weight added:3.55KG
List of phase 1 mods for KTM 690 Enduro R

Overall I am pleased with the phase one modifications, an additional 3.5KG for all the above is not too big a price to pay. Swapping the stock can for the Wings one has really helped out here, knocking off a whopping 2.3KG.

So, this is the bike after phase 1. Just need covid to do one, and weather to improve.

KTM 690 Enduro R after phase 1 mods

Ideas for phase 2 mods

So, before I spend any more money, I need to ride the bike and use it to see what I actually need, as opposed to what extra I think I need. Some of the items I am considering are:

ItemCommentPrice
Kouba lowering linkReduces the saddle height of the 690 by about an inch. The bike is tall, taller than my CRF250 Rally. But, I will try and get used to the bike before I pull the trigger on this. My main concern is the manufacturer disclaimer that lowering alters the dynamics and handling of the bike.£144
Double Take mirrorsTrying some cheap e-bay ones for now, but if they dont work out, will look at these. £61 each!£122
Seat concepts seatSeen really good reviews of these. But, £390 is a lot to spend. The stock one ATM does not seem to bad to me, I have done couple of 8 hour days. That said, I have not done many consecutive days. If I struggle when I get more time on the bike, I may go for it. But £390 for a seat does raise my blood pressure somewhat.£390
Items I may add as part of phase 2

Leave a comment